Mama’s got a brand new bag

I’ve been in the market for a photography bag for about two years now.  I wanted something “pretty” and yet practical.  I’ve been eying the “Shoot Sac” for a while but haven’t fallen in love with any of the prints yet.  And it still wouldn’t hold all my gear.  So, I looked at Etsy and found some designs I liked, but still nothing perfect.  What’s a Marti to do?  Well… I’ve made my own.  🙂  And it holds all this stuff.  Nicely.  With room for snacks, diapers, keys, sunglasses, iPhone, my purse, and maybe even a few more things.  Yeah!

It can be a messenger bag, handle bag, or even a back pack.  I like a lotta bang for my efforts.  I ran out of neoprene but plan on all the straps being soft and stretchy with pockets for little things like SD cards and lens caps.  But it’s late, and Jo-Anns is closed now.

I’ve never made a purse before.  I like the magnetic closures that are now available.  And the claspy hook fasteners.   I like that I was able to measure all my own gear and completely custom design this bag.

The only neoprene available at our Jo Anns was this teal/black or hot pink/black.  Not my first choice, but I actually like it finished.

And there was this cute clearance outdoor upholstery fabric right next to it.  Perfect match!  And I like flowers.

Rob says it looks like a lawn chair.  Yeah, I can see it.  But, I like the lawn.  This bag makes me smile.  It’s my beachy lawn camera bag.  I love the feel and lens fit of the neoprene so much I’ll probably make another more compact one anyhow.  Maybe I won’t use lawn chair fabric for the next one…. or maybe I will.  😉  Actually, my plan was originally to just make an insert for a pre-made purse.  But when I got to the Sam Moon next to Jo-Anns, they had closed at 7:00.  I was too impatient to wait.  I mean, serisously, it had already been two years…

Photog friends, what do you think?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Mama’s got a brand new bag

  1. Jennifer Gano says:

    YAY!! Looks awesome!

  2. Stephanie says:

    Fabulous! I am so lucky to have such a creative and talented friend…I could not have made that in 10 years, let alone 1 day! I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again…you rock! Seriously, you are amazing! So proud of you!

    • Marti says:

      🙂 Thank you. I really enjoyed it. I’d be happy to make you one if you are interested. It was really easy. 🙂 I’m planning to make another smaller version soon….

  3. Marion says:

    Looks amazing. You have have mad sewing skills which does surprise me out all. You are so talented in some many things.

  4. Mariah Milan says:

    So talented! It looks awesome!!! What a great job. And the print is perfect for summer!

Leave a Reply

